The Penalties for a Minnesota Texting and Driving Citation Went up Over the Weekend.
Beginning August 1, the fine for a repeat violation of the Minnesota texting and driving law has increased to $225 plus the base fine of $50.
Some people have asked what is prohibited by the Minnesota texting and driving law. The law prohibits the use of a cell phone or other wireless device, such as a tablet, to compose, read or send a text message, email, or website while operating a motor vehicle. Use of a phone or tablet to use an app while operating a motor vehicle is likewise prohibited.
The Minnesota Texting and Driving Law
Does Not Prohibit the Use of Voice-Activated Controls on a Smartphone or Tablet.
The law also does not punish the use of a GPS or navigation system if those devices are being used solely for GPS purposes. So, you should not be cited for a violation of the Minnesota texting a driving law if using the GPS app on your smartphone as long as you’re not also engaged in any of the prohibited conduct. The law also provides an exception for emergency use.
The Minnesota texting and driving law also requires that the device was used by a driver of a vehicle that is in traffic. This does not include use of a device while the vehicle is stopped at a red light or parked in a parking lot. The interpretation of the law requires
Hire Mendota Height’s Best Criminal Defence Attoryneys
Feel free to contact our experienced Mendota Heights, Minnesota criminal defense lawyers for any additional questions.
Attorney John Arechigo has a passion for criminal defense in St. Paul, MN. John received his J.D., from Hamline University School of Law and also carries a Bachelor of Arts from, The University of Minnesota. John was named Attorney of the Year for 2019 by Minnesota Lawyer. Additionally, John was also named as a 2019 Rising Star and was selected to Minnesota Super Lawyers in 2021. He devotes nearly 100% of his practice to defending individuals charged with a crime.