The average cost of a DUI or DWI in Minnesota is much more expensive than one might expect. DUI fees can be staggering in Minnesota. You need to understand the potential financial impact of a DUI in Minnesota if you face DUI charges, in addition to any criminal penalties you face.
A qualified Minnesota DWI defense attorney could explain all of the potential DUI fees you could pay if a court finds you guilty of DWI. The facts and circumstances of your case dictate the choices you could make. However, frankly discussing your DUI case with a seasoned and dedicated DUI attorney from Minnesota would help you make the best decision for you and your family.
Average Cost of DUI
No one appreciates the amount of money a DUI costs until facing DWI charges. How much does a DUI cost, can only be determined after a thorough analysis of your case. However, DUI fees begin to pile up immediately after a DUI arrest.
A person under arrest for DWI in Minnesota may need to post bond, depending on the severity of the DUI offense. A non-monetary conditional release might be appropriate for a person charged with a first-offense DUI without aggravating factors. However, you may have to post a monetary bond if you had an alcohol content double the legal limit, face a subsequent offense or caused an accident with injuries or death.
State law governs bonds in Minnesota. Under Minnesota’s bond law, the bond for a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor is double the maximum fine. There are no maximum bond amounts for a felony DWI in Minnesota.
DUI Ticket Price
The DUI ticket cost can increase if you receive a conviction for DWI. During an initial consultation, many people ask, How much is a DUI fine? The DUI ticket price depends on the charges.
Minnesota categorizes DUI charges by degrees. The maximum fine depends on the severity of the charges. Maximum fines under Minnesota’s DUI laws are:
- $1,000 for fourth-degree DWI, which is a misdemeanor;
- $3,000 for second- or third-degree DWI and breath test refusal, which are gross misdemeanor charges; and
- $14,000 for first-degree DWI, which is a felony.
The maximum fines do not include surcharges or court costs. Also, a judge may assess these fines in addition to any jail time ordered by the court after a DUI conviction.
Additional DUI Ticket Costs
Most people charged with DUI ask about the DUI fines a court can impose. They do not ask about the other costs included as part of the average cost of DUI. Additional potential costs associated with a DUI conviction in Minnesota include:
- Ignition interlock device for 12 months—approximately $120 to install and $100 per month for maintenance;
- License reinstatement fees—$680 plus a $26.25 application fee;
- Towing or impound fees—approximately $180;
- Probation fees;
- Chemical dependency and treatment fee—$25; and
- Penalty assessment of $1,000 for an alcohol content reading of 0.16% or greater.
Other expenses included in the average DUI cost are insurance increases of approximately 37% and possible lost wages.
Keep DUI Costs to a Minimum By Avoiding a DUI Conviction
The financial cost of even a first-offense DUI is enormous if you are convicted. One way to avoid paying the average cost for a DUI is to avoid a DUI conviction altogether.
Consulting a highly trained and experienced Minnesota DUI attorney from the Criminal Defense Attorney & Workers’ Compensation Law Offices of Arechigo & Stokka could help you minimize your financial burden associated with a DWI charge.
Call us today at 651-222-6603 to discuss your options.
Attorney John Arechigo has a passion for criminal defense in St. Paul, MN. John received his J.D., from Hamline University School of Law and also carries a Bachelor of Arts from, The University of Minnesota. John was named Attorney of the Year for 2019 by Minnesota Lawyer. Additionally, John was also named as a 2019 Rising Star and was selected to Minnesota Super Lawyers in 2021. He devotes nearly 100% of his practice to defending individuals charged with a crime.