Have you recently been arrested for driving under the influence in North Dakota?
You are probably embarrassed and perhaps fearful of what lies ahead. Don’t panic!
A first-offense DUI is serious, but an experienced and skilled DUI defense attorney can help you understand North Dakota DUI laws and avoid the harshest penalties and achieve the best possible outcome.
Let us put your mind at ease.
Contact the Criminal Defense Attorney & Workers Compensation Law Offices of Arechigo & Stokka today to discuss your case.
First-Offense DUI in North Dakota
A North Dakota first DUI offense is a Class B Misdemeanor.
A first-offense DUI conviction can result in fines, jail time, loss of license, community service, or a combination of these.
In North Dakota, a conviction for a first-offense DUI can result in:
- A fine of up to $500 if your BAC is below .16%,
- A minimum $750 fine if your BAC is above .16%,
- A minimum of two days in jail if your BAC is .16% or greater,
- A 91-day license suspension for a BAC below .18%,
- A 180-day license suspension if your BAC is .18% or greater, and
- A mandatory addiction evaluation.
There is no minimum jail sentence for a first DUI offense unless your BAC level is .16% or higher.
However, you may still be sentenced to up to 30 days in jail, depending on the facts and circumstances of your case.
A DUI is considered a first DUI offense if you have no prior DUI convictions within the past seven years.
This is referred to as the look-back period. In other words, even if you were convicted of a DUI 15 years ago, this will be considered a first offense because it is beyond the look-back period of seven years.
A DUI in North Dakota can also lead to other unforeseen consequences such as increased insurance premiums, inability to find gainful employment, and inability to secure a mortgage or loan.
Having a skilled defense attorney to advocate on your behalf could mean the difference between jail time or probation and some fines.
Restricted Work-Permit License
You may be worried about losing your license and losing your job as a result. Worrying about how you will continue to feed your family without an income can be scary.
In North Dakota, after the initial 30-day license suspension, you may be eligible for a restricted license or “work-permit license.”
This license would allow you to drive to and from work. If you refused to submit to a chemical test when you were arrested, you would be ineligible for a work permit.
Contact us today to discuss your eligibility for a restricted license.
Our Fargo, North Dakota DUI Defense Attorneys Are Here for You!
At Arechigo & Stokka, our defense attorneys have decades of experience and hundreds of cases under their belt.
If you or someone you love are facing a first-offense DUI in North Dakota, do not face it alone.
A DUI conviction can have long-lasting effects on your life, so let our skilled DUI defense attorneys fight for you. We are available 24/7.
Contact us to schedule a free, confidential consultation to discuss your DUI defense.
Attorney John Arechigo has a passion for criminal defense in St. Paul, MN. John received his J.D., from Hamline University School of Law and also carries a Bachelor of Arts from, The University of Minnesota. John was named Attorney of the Year for 2019 by Minnesota Lawyer. Additionally, John was also named as a 2019 Rising Star and was selected to Minnesota Super Lawyers in 2021. He devotes nearly 100% of his practice to defending individuals charged with a crime.