| Read Time: 2 minutes

If you have been charged with possession of a controlled substance in North Dakota, you are undoubtedly worried about your future.

A conviction for drug possession of any kind can lead to imprisonment, fines, or both.

A criminal record can also lead to unforeseen consequences, such as making it difficult to find gainful employment or apply for a mortgage.

If you are facing a charge for the possession of a controlled substance, the criminal defense attorneys at Arechigo & Stokka are here to advocate for your freedom, rights, and reputation. 

If you have found yourself on the wrong side of the law and have been accused of possessing a controlled substance, you are probably asking yourself several questions, including:

  • What is possession of a controlled substance? 
  • What class felony is the possession of a controlled substance? 
  • What is the charge for possession of a controlled substance? 

The criminal defense attorneys at Arechigo & Stokka are available to answer any and all questions you may have.

Our goal is to put your mind at ease while fighting for the best possible outcome on your behalf. Contact us today to get started. 

What Is Possession of a Controlled Substance? 

North Dakota state law makes it illegal to possess an unlawful controlled substance such as cocaine, heroin, opiates, and methamphetamine.

This includes drugs that would be legal if they were lawfully prescribed and properly used—such as Oxycodone.

However, if you obtain these drugs illegally or use them improperly, you are breaking the law and can be charged with possession of a controlled substance. 

What Class Felony Is Possession of a Controlled Substance? 

Generally, if it rises to the level of a felony offense, possession of a controlled substance will be a Class C or Class B felony.

  • Class C felony: This charge is a second or subsequent offense of simple possession of a controlled substance and carries a sentence of up to five years in prison, up to a $5,000 fine, or both. 
  • Class B felony: This is a charge for possession of a controlled substance within 1,000 feet of a school and carries a sentence of up to 10 years in prison, up to a $10,000 fine, or both.

What Is the Charge for Possession of a Controlled Substance? 

The exact charge brought against you for possession of a controlled substance can vary depending on the circumstances.

The type of drug, quantity, intent, and location of where you were caught will factor into the exact charge brought against you. 

Common charges for possession of a controlled substance include:

  • Simple possession of a controlled substance,
  • Possession of a controlled substance with intent to distribute,
  • Possession of drug paraphernalia, and
  • Possession of a controlled substance in a school zone.

Even if you think you have only been charged with a minor offense, it is important to speak with a criminal defense attorney immediately.

Even the lowest level offense can negatively impact your life. 

North Dakota Possession of a Controlled Substance Attorney

If you have been charged with possession of a controlled substance, you could be facing harsh penalties. Your best defense is a skilled criminal defense attorney.

Criminal Defense Attorney & Workers Compensation Law Offices of Arechigo & Stokka is a small firm that gets big results.

We treat each client’s case with the personal attention it deserves. Contact us to schedule a free, no-obligation consultation today. 

Author Photo

John T. Arechigo, Esq.

Attorney John Arechigo has a passion for criminal defense in St. Paul, MN. John received his J.D., from Hamline University School of Law and also carries a Bachelor of Arts from, The University of Minnesota. John was named Attorney of the Year for 2019 by Minnesota Lawyer. Additionally, John was also named as a 2019 Rising Star and was selected to Minnesota Super Lawyers in 2021. He devotes nearly 100% of his practice to defending individuals charged with a crime.

Rate this Post

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Loading...