Aggravated robbery in MN is the most serious form of theft in which the accused is armed with a deadly weapon or inflicts bodily harm on the victim.
Simple robbery, on the other hand, is the mere threat of using violence during the commission of a theft.
If you or someone you love has been charged with aggravated robbery, it is critical to seek advice of counsel immediately. It is a very serious charge with severe penalties.
A conviction for aggravated robbery in MN may result in years in prison, parole, fines, a criminal record, and loss of voting or gun rights.
Having a skilled criminal defense attorney on your side may mean the difference between a conviction and an acquittal.
What Is Aggravated Robbery in the First and Second Degree?
In Minnesota, depending on the circumstances surrounding the crime, you may be charged with aggravated robbery in the first or second degree.
During the commission of a robbery, an individual who is armed with a dangerous weapon or inflicts bodily harm upon another may be guilty of aggravated robbery in the first degree.
If convicted, you may be sentenced to imprisonment for up to 20 years, charged a fine up to $35,000, or both.
Second degree aggravated robbery in MN occurs when, during the commission of a robbery, you imply by word or action that you are in possession of a dangerous weapon.
If convicted, you may be sentenced to up to 15 years in prison, a fine up to $30,000, or both.
If convicted of either first or second degree aggravated robbery, the exact sentence imposed will depend on several different factors.
The court will take into consideration the mitigating and non-mitigating factors against you. These include:
- Prior convictions,
- Nature of the crime,
- Extent of victim’s injuries,
- Amenability to probation,
- Acceptance of responsibility; and,
Every individual case is unique, and having a skilled attorney on your side will ensure the best possible outcome.
Defenses to Aggravated Robbery, MN
If you have been charged with aggravated robbery, there are several defenses that may be available to you.
Lack of Intent
As with most criminal offenses, if the accused can show they did not have the necessary intent to commit the crime, the prosecutor cannot prove their case.
Perhaps you have been wrongfully accused and you weren’t even at the place of the crime. If you can prove you were somewhere else altogether, you may have a solid defense.
Statute of Limitations
In Minnesota, the statute of limitations for robbery is three years.
If the prosecutor has brought charges against you three or more years after the alleged crime took place, you may be able to get the charges dismissed.
Our Minnesota Criminal Defense Attorneys Are Ready to Help
Aggravated robbery in MN is a serious charge. There is no room for error when it comes to defending your case.
Our criminal defense attorneys at Arechigo & Stokka are committed to helping our clients maintain their freedom.
We have over 20 years of experience defending clients accused of committing all types of crime. Contact us to schedule a confidential consultation.