Your driver’s license or ability to drive in Minnesota will be revoked if a chemical test of your blood alcohol content reveals a BAC over .08. Driving privileges will also be revoked if you refuse to submit to a chemical test. However, work permits, also known as limited licenses, are available.
Eligibility for a Minnesota limited license depends on specific requirements:
- It must be a first time DWI;
- Your blood-alcohol level must have been below 0.16; and
- You must be employed or be a full-time homemaker.
If you are eligible under these requirements, then you may apply for a work permit 15 days after the expiration of your temporary license or 22 days after the date of your arrest.
Here, we explain how to get a driving work permit in Minnesota.
1. The Written Test
To apply for a limited license, you must first pass a written exam. The test is comprised of questions relating to drinking and driving. You may take the test at any time, and you do not need to wait for your license to be revoked to take it.
To study for the test, review chapters 7 and 8 of the Minnesota Driver’s Manual.
2. Pay a Reinstatement Fee
After passing the exam, you must pay a reinstatement fee of $680. Once the fee is paid, you may fill out a reinstatement application and pay the new license fee of $26.75.
Under Minnesota laws, your application must explain your inability to take the bus or use ridesharing to get to and from work.
3. Meet with an Evaluator
After all of the above has been completed, you may proceed with your application for the limited license. You must meet with an evaluator or administrator from the Department of Public Safety to get approval.
Eligibility for a work permit in Minnesota also depends on your driving record and whether you have any previous DWIs. If you have multiple DWIs and these prior offenses were within 10 years of the current offense, you may not qualify for a work permit.
A criminal defense attorney can help you assess your case and provide you with advice and options.
Even if you are approved for a work permit in Minnesota, certain restrictions come along with it. Such restrictions include:
- What days you are permitted to drive;
- What hours in the day you are allowed to drive; and
- For what reasons you may drive.
In most cases, you may only be allowed to drive to and from:
- Treatment required for the DWI; and
- Necessary locations that meet family needs.
Situations are assessed on a case by case basis, and additional conditions may be granted.
Contact a DWI Attorney Today
Every case is different, and a DWI attorney can help you navigate through this process. Our team at Arechigo & Stokka has extensive experience helping individuals with DWI charges achieve the most favorable outcome. Let us discuss your case and see how we can assist you. Contact us today to schedule your free consultation.